The University of Ottawa was founded in 1848 and chartered in 1866. It wasted little time in marking science and engineering part of its fields of instruction.

After the Second World War, the University kept in step with the new rise in popularity of the pure and applied sciences by establishing the School of Applied Sciences. In 1953, it created the School of Pure and Applied Sciences, which was given faculty status in 1962.

This faculty was composed of seven departments, two of which were in engineering. Ten years later, it had four engineering departments and went by the name of Faculty of Science and Engineering.

The faculty of Engineering is made up of four department: Chemical, Civil, Electrical and Mechanical Engineering. They are located in the impressive Colonel By Hall, which you can see in the above picture.

Copyright 1999 - 2005 NallPro® All rights reserved.